Sep 22, 2014

2014-2015 Kerr Scholarships awarded

Baxter Regional Medical Center awarded its annual recipients of the Dr. Robert L. Kerr Annual Medical Student Scholarship in a ceremony recently held in Little Rock. Medical students from the Baxter Regional market area were recognized and awarded the scholarship in support of tuition for medical school. Funding for the Kerr Scholarship is provided by the Baxter Regional Hospital Foundation.

Dr. Robert L. and Mrs. Kerr attended the event. Dr. Kerr, longtime Mountain Home physician now retired in Little Rock, encouraged each of the students in their chosen career in medicine. He shared a personal message with the students and their families and guests in attendance.

The scholarship recipients were welcomed by Baxter Regional President and CEO, Ron Peterson. Barney Larry, Baxter Regional Hospital Foundation Executive Director, described the Kerr Medical Student Scholarship as andldquo;a way to honor a great man and great physician, Dr. Robert L. Kerr, who served our community for many years.”

This yearandrsquo;s Kerr Scholarship recipients are Evan Branscum, Austin Carlisle, Jennie Clark, Kendall Fancher, Maureen Flowers, Derek Karr, Kenneth Adam Kilgore, Lindsay Malatesta, Amanda McAlister, Matthew McAlister, Emily Nachtigal, Samuel Olson, Eamon Olwell, Banks Peterson, Eric Sanders, Samantha Shipman, James Tullis and Sloane Zimmerman.

Scholarships are presented annually. To be eligible, students must show proof of enrollment in an accredited medical program leading to a degree of medical doctor or doctor of osteopathy and demonstrate residency in the BRMC designated service area (including the following counties: Baxter, Marion, Fulton, Izard, Sharp, Stone, and Searcy in Arkansas and Ozark County, Missouri). For more information, contact Bobbi Brown, BRMC Physician Recruiter at 870-508-1010 or

Pictured: BRMC is proud to support medical students from our area with the Robert L. Kerr Medical Student Scholarship for the 6th year. Scholarship recipients who attended the 2014 Kerr Scholarship dinner held in Little Rock on August 5 include (standing, from left) Kendall Fancher, Banks Peterson, Evan Branscum, Eamon Olwell, Adam Kilgore, Derek Karr, (seated, from left) Maureen Flowers, Lindsay Malatesta, Dr. Robert L. Kerr, Sloane Zimmerman and Samantha Shipman. Scholarship recipients not pictured include Asad Akhter, Austin Carlisle, Jennie Clark, Amanda McAlister, Matt McAlister, Emily Nachtigal, Samuel Olson, Eric Sanders and James Tullis.

Media Kit