Oct 3, 2009

Kerr Scholarship Awarded by BRMC

Baxter Regional Medical Center awarded the first recipients of the Robert L. Kerr Annual Medical Student Scholarship in a ceremony August 12 in Little Rock. Medical students from the Baxter Regional service areas were recognized and awarded the scholarship in support of tuition for medical school.

Dr. Robert L. and Mrs. Kerr attended the event. Dr. Kerr, longtime physician in Mountain Home now retired in Little Rock, encouraged each of the students in their chosen career in medicine. He shared a personal message with the students, two of whom he had delivered at birth. andldquo;When I was in college preparing to go to medical school, I worked at our local hospital. Our doctors in Dermott were great family docs. They told me, however, that I was crazy for going into medicine because the government was about to take over. Of course, Medicare did come along, but I had 40 years of a career in medicine that I really enjoyed. I took care of up to 5 generations of some families. I liked that and they seemed to also.” He went on to say, “You have chosen well. A career in medicine will not be the same as it was in the past but it was not the same for me either. You will have the opportunity to be a respected member of your community, to take care of people, and have a great relationship with your patients.”

The scholarship recipients were welcomed by Baxter Regional President and CEO, Ron Peterson, who then introduced Executive Director, Baxter Regional Hospital Foundation, Barney Larry. Larry described the Kerr Medical Student Scholarship as andldquo;a way to honor a great man and great physician, Dr. Robert L. Kerr, who served our community for many years.”

This yearandrsquo;s Kerr Scholarship recipients are Ryan Adkins, Michael Clarke, Delia Lee, Richard Millstein, John Neis, Garrett Nelson, Stephanie Recktenwald Pereira, Bradley Petkovich, Jason Talburt, and Robbie Hurtt.

Scholarship(s) will be presented annually. To be eligible, students must show proof of enrollment in an accredited medical program leading to a degree of medical doctor or doctor of osteopathy and demonstrate permanent residency in the BRMC designated service area (including the following counties: Baxter, Marion, Fulton, Izard, Sharp, Stone, and Searcy, Arkansas, and Ozark County, Missouri). For more information, contact Bobbi Brown, Physician Recruitment Coordinator at 870-508-1010 or bbrown@baxterregional.org.