Open Accessibility Menu

Shared Governance

On a Magnet Journey to Excellence

BRMC is on a Journey to Excellence to achieve Magnet status. Shared Governance is an integral part of this journey. Shared Governance supports and encourages a dynamic partnership between nursing and leadership. Collaboration promotes shared decision-making and accountability by empowering all members of the healthcare workforce to have an active voice in issues that affect work. Satisfied individuals take ownership of their decisions and work to improve patient outcomes.

shared governance wall

Shared Governance consists of Unit-Based Councils (UBC) and Divisional Councils. These councils meet monthly to talk about standardization and improvement of practice, development, safety, quality, and evidence-based research.

Shared Governance Officers:

  • CNO - Shannon Nachtigal, MSN, RN, NEA-BC
  • Magnet Program Director & Director Clinical Excellence - Barbara Dyson, MSN, RN - Nursing Administration
  • Practice Chair - Kamie Swanson, BSN, RN, CRRN- Clinical Nurse, Acute Rehab
  • Practice CoChair - Hannah Blasdel, BSN RN–Clinical Nurse, ICU
  • Development Chair - Megan Wunderlin, RN, RNC-OB, IBCLC–Educator, WNCC
  • Development CoChair - Jennifer Bohrtz, BSN, RN, WCC–Wound Nurse, Nursing Administration
  • Safety/Quality Chair - Allison Carter, ADN, RN–Clinical Nurse, Pre-Surgical Testing
  • Safety/Quality CoChair - Angie Knight, BSN, RN–Clinical Nurse, Baxter Regional Family Clinic on Market
  • New Knowledge & Innovation Chair - Leigh Ann Dowling, MSN, RN–Clinical Informatics Analyst II, Clinical Informatics
  • New Knowledge & Innovation CoChair - Open

Nursing Divisional Councils include:

  • Practice Council – Ensures nursing practice is evidence-based and consistent with professional standards. Subcommittees: Nursing Division Standards.
  • Development Council – Focuses on the professional growth of nursing staff, promoting advanced degrees, certifications, and recruitment/retention. Subcommittee: Nurse’s Week
  • Safety/Quality Council – Identifies, reviews, and analyzes nurse-sensitive indicators, national patient safety goals, and patient satisfaction. Subcommittees: Fall Prevention Team, Pressure Injury Prevention Team
  • New Knowledge & Innovation Council – Ignites a spirit of inquiry to create, nurture, and support a culture of evidence-based practice in nursing.
  • Coordinating Council – Consists of the Divisional Co-Chairs who are responsible for the bylaws of Shared Governance and identify gaps and duplication within the councils.
  • Leadership Council – Nursing Leadership Team collaborates with Divisional Chairs to provide support and remove barriers.
Related Blogs